Beyond the family stress, this week I picked up my wedding dress :) It was a bit more of a process than I expected and my quick 5 minute trip took over an hour. On Thursday, after dinner, I stopped by David's Bridal and the receptionist rather quickly was able to go to the back to grab my dress. I was rather shocked at how busy this place was for a Thursday night and was happy I did my shopping weeks ago. She brought me the dress in the garment bag and had me sign a paper. I was about to walk out with the dress and head home but figured it would be good to at least open the bag up and make sure it was the correct dress (duh!). These things are huge and rather unmanageable but I was able to find a display rack to hang it on so I could unzip it. I opened it up and sure enough it was my dress but as I was closing it back up I thought I saw a mark on it. Since I was sort of in the main entrance way and there was a lot of people filing in, I didn't want to continue to be in the way and took the dress out to the car. There I opened it up again and sure enough noticed a small dark mark on the side of the dress.
I quickly brought it back in and put it on the rack so that I could take it out of the bag completely and look the whole thing over. The receptionist noticed I was back after checking in a bunch of people and asked what the problem was. I showed her the mark and the other mark I found on the back and she said alterations could probably remove them. She called someone and it took them a while to get there but they said it should be no problem. I spent the next 20 minutes or so just observing the craziness of women in pack and the sort of psychoness that are brides. I talked a lot with the receptionist about how busy it always seems to be and just sort of the strange things that seem to happen when it comes to brides and bridal parties. After the 20 minutes the receptionist began to wonder too what was taking so long and went back to check. Apparently the one spot wasn't a spot but there was a black thread in one of the under layers that she was removing. A few minutes later the woman returned and while the spot on the side was removed there was still a small spot where the tread was that could be seen in some angles but not in others. I really hated to be picky but I did spend a lot of money on the dress, so I asked if it was possible to reorder as I had plenty of time for it to come in. To do that the manager had to be called and we then all started looking at the little spot. She wanted to try one more time as she thought there still might be another thread in there and I said sure. About 10 minutes later she came out and said it was all good but if I still wanted to reorder I could. But it was perfectly fine, no spots or stains, so I finally was able to take it home. But it was rather fun being able to people watch in the store. Perhaps if I'm crazy I'll go one Saturday and just sit and observe :-P
I have also been slightly obsessed with wedding boards lately and while I tend to just follow the more relevant ones such as Upstate NY, July 2011 weddings and DIY (great place to get ideas), I've lately been reading more of the posts on the Etiquette boards as other posters on my main boards suggested Etiquette as entertain reads. And boy are they! People are just crazy and mean. Who knew there were so many rules out there and geez to people have opinions one how wedding should be. I'm really glad I'm not friends with these judgmental crazy women and I sometimes wonder why they put themselves through so much stress over little things like how to word an RSVP card. Just crazy! I love our informal wedding, it might not be the traditional/formal way to do it but it's definitely more us :)
no harm in checking out something you've purchased.... the price should justify it all :-)
ReplyDelete